Peace Committee

National Peace Committee

Concerned by the potential violence that could emerge from the hotly contested 2015 General Elections, the Office of the Special Adviser to the President on Inter-party Affairs under the leadership of Senator Ben Obi in collaboration with the Office of the National Security Adviser (ONSA) on January 14, 2015 facilitated the signing of the ‘The Abuja Accord’ on the prevention of violence and acceptance of results by parties contesting the elections.

In signing the Accord, the presidential candidates and chairpersons of the parties contesting the election committed themselves and their parties to the following:

  • To run issue-based campaigns at national, state and local government levels – In this, we pledge to refrain from campaigns that will involve religious incitement, ethnic or tribal profiling both by ourselves and by all agents acting in our names;
  • To refrain from making or causing to make in our names or that of our party, any public statements, pronouncements, declarations or speeches that have the capacity to incite any form of violence, before, during and after the elections;
  • All institutions of government including INEC and security agencies must act and be seen to act with impartiality;
  • To forcefully and publicly speak out against provocative utterances and oppose all acts electoral violence whether perpetrated by our supporters and/or opponents.

The signatories also committed themselves to the monitoring of the adherence to the Accord by a National Peace Committee made up of respected statesmen and women, traditional and religious leaders.

Shortly after, Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah, the founder and Board Chair of The Kukah Centre was asked to help convene such an eminent body of highly respected Nigerians with former Head of State, General Abdulsalam A. Abubakar, Rtd. (GCFR) emerging as its Chairman.

The Committee has the following Terms of Reference (TOR)

  • To observe and monitor compliance with The Abuja Accord signed by the political parties on January 14, 2015;
  • To provide advice to the Government and INEC on resolution of political disputes and conflicts arising from issues of compliance with The Abuja Accord;
  • Shall make itself available for national mediation and conciliation in the case of post-electoral disputes or crises.

National Peace Committee Members

General Abdusalam Abubakar GCFR & Former Head State

General Abdusalam Abubakar (Rtd.),  GCFR

Former Head State; Chairman, National Peace Committee

Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe (rtd.) Vice Chairman, National Peace

Commodore Ebitu Ukiwe (Rtd.), GCON

Vice Chairman, National Peace Committee

Cardinal John Onaiyekan, CON

Cardinal John Onaiyekan, CON

Catholic Archbishop of Abuja

Sultan Sa’ad Abubakar

Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar III, CON

Sultan of Sokoto

President, Christian Association of Nigeria

Rev. Sam Ayokunle

President, Christian Association of Nigeria

Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah. Co-ordinator, National Peace Committee

Bishop Matthew Hassan Kukah

Convener, National Peace Committee

Catholic Bishop of Sokoto Diocese

Aliko Dangote

Alhaji Aliko Dangote, GCON

President/CEO, Dangote Group

Archbishop Nicolas Okoh Primate, Anglican Communion of Nigeria

Archbishop Nicholas Okoh

Primate, Anglican Communion of Nigeria

Professor Zaynab Alkali

Professor Zaynab Alkali

Preeminent novelist; former Deputy Vice Chancellor, Nassarawa State University

Mr. Sam Amuka

Mr. Sam Amuka

Veteran journalist, columnist and founder of Vanguard Newspaper

Dame Priscilla Kuye

Dame Priscilla Kuye

Life Bencher, former President, Nigerian Bar Association

Professor Mahmood Yakubu

Professor Mahmood Yakubu

Chairman, Independent Electoral Commission (INEC)

Dr John Oyegun. Chairman, All Progressive Congress (APC)

Dr John Oyegun

Chairman, All Progressive Congress (APC)

Professor Ibrahim Gambari

Professor Ibrahim Gambari

Former Deputy Secretary General, United Nations

Professor Bolaji Akinyemi

Professor Bolaji Akinyemi

Professor of Political Science and former Minister, External Affairs